Every other year, the Idaho Chapter of the American Institute of Architects encourages the 300 members of its four sections, Eastern, Northern, Central and Mountain, to submit recently built projects for consideration for outstanding recognition.  This year the call was issued in April and the selections were presented on September 23, 2016.  A gala evening event, which featured music by Shon Sanders, was hosted at the Riverside Hotel, Boise Idaho. 

AIA Idaho Past-President, Ty Morrison, AIA introduced the Jury which was responsible for selecting winners:

  • Martin Flood, AIA, NCARB, Owner & Principal, Architecture & Engineering Solutions, LLC, Phoenix, Arizona
  • Richard J. Mitchell, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, GCP, Managing Principal, Mackenzie, Seattle, Washington
  • Matthew Richter, AIA, ACHA, Principal/Medical Planner, SmithGroupJJR, San Francisco, California

Mr. Morrison then presented those projects the Jury selected from the 33 entries received in ten different categories:

Best Use of Idaho Wood Award:

AIA Idaho’s of Idaho Wood award is intended to showcase the use of Idaho grown and produced wood products so as to educate the profession and the industry about the use of Idaho Wood in exceptional design practice. A winning award will tell a compelling story about team work, stewardship, goals, analysis, or performance within the framework of the Idaho Forest Products Commission.

Citation Award:

AIA Idaho’s Citation Award is given for recognition of the professional excellence manifested by the architect and the cooperation shown by the client in demanding and recognizing the highest of architectural standards.

Honor (highest award):

AIA Idaho’s Honor Award is the highest award given. In recognition of the professional achievement and execution of the design program, outstanding excellence manifested by the architect, and the cooperation shown by the client and design team, in demanding and recognizing exemplary architectural standards in creation of the built environment.

Click here for link to award winners and pictures.

Honor Awards

Copyright 2016 AIA Idaho